Silent Heroes by Patricia Furstenberg

From Amazon: How far would you go to save strangers in need? A platoon of Marines and their military working dogs, MWD, are about to find out. An educated woman makes the ultimate sacrifice to teach girls to read. She leaves behind a daughter and a son whose lives become intertwined with those of the U.S. Marines. But the Taliban is infiltrated everywhere and is hard to differentiate between friend and foe. As vivid as a movie, you will share the life of the Marines deployed in an Afghan military base; climb the breathtaking Hindu-Kush Mountains to a secluded Taliban camp; dive in the belly of ancient Qala-e-Bost fortress in the middle of a battle, and experience the culture of the Afghan people. Silent Heroes is a race against time, “an emotional rollercoaster of a read,” a page-turner, a thrilling contemporary story with a vivid sense of the place, history and politics that shines a light on the humanity of the Marines and their special relationship with their canine buddies. The utterly thrilling war fiction read inspired by true events from a Historical Fiction bestselling author – it will keep you gripped until the final page. Chosen one of 5 Books Everyone Should Read in Their Lifetime. From the author of the Amazon Historical Fiction Bestseller Joyful Trouble comes Silent Heroes, When Love and Values Are Worth Fighting for – ‘a book not to be missed. (Mandie Griffiths, Book Reviewer) For readers of Kite Runner, A Dog’s Way Home and The Operator. Readers are loving Silent Heroes: ‘Although this is a work of fiction there are truths to it that will tug at your heart. For anyone who has not read one of Patricia’s books then I would recommend this one.’ (5 stars) Mandie Griffiths ‘Have you ever read a fiction novel but felt as if you were reading a true account of events instead? This was my experience while reading Patricia Furstenberg’s Silent Heroes. Regardless of your usual preferred genre, this is an excellent read … will stay in your heart and mind long after finishing.’ (5 stars) Dandelion Inspired ‘If you’re looking for a fast paced read I really can’t recommend this book highly enough. It’s a definite must read.’ (5 stars) Mani’s Book Corner ’I strongly recommend this book to EVERYONE!’ (5 stars) Bunny’s Pause ‘A fantastic, action packed, captivating and emotional tale then will take you on a rollercoaster. Definitely recommended by me!’ Curled Up With a Good Book ‘The writing is wonderful… Great book to experience something different than a traditional suspense or mystery read.’ (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer ’I recommend this book to anyone … who wants a novel with plenty of action and great characters.’ (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer ‘Incredibly well researched, and provides many edge of the seat moments… Highly recommended.’ (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer ‘It was also very interesting to read about the important role Military Working Dogs played in the US Marines’ war against the Taliban insurgents.’ (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer ‘A story that uplifts with its portrayal of people who continue to care for others despite the dangers they face every day. A great read. (5 stars) Goodreads Reviewer ’The entire story feels urgent, totally against the clock.… A well-researched, thought-provoking and ultimately insightful consideration of life in the military.’ (Goodreads Reviewer)

My Review: This was a difficult book to read due to the nature of the subject matter. That said, everyone should read this story. The novel brings home the issues with military life in an Afghanistan war zone. I don’t think the Taliban will ever stop their crazy murderous ways in which they kill regardless of age and innocence. Sure. We can help build schools or a hospital but who would teach??? Girls not allowed to learn. The horror of children used as weapons such as exploding IED’s, or grenade and explosive liquid in hand, crying because they know they will die, but doing what was drilled into their brain, is more than heart-rending. Five stars. 

2 thoughts on “Silent Heroes by Patricia Furstenberg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s