Archive | August 2020

Editorial Services

Editorial Services

I offer Complete Editing only which means I look at Substantive/Development which is an overall edit of your work, looking at your structure, flow, development, scenes, conciseness, clarity, dialogue, etc. I also perform Copy and Line Editing in which I look closely at a sentence-by-sentence review of basic English such as spelling, grammar, punctuation, and tense. I will also review your word choice, phrasing, dialogue, repeat/repeat wordage, and consistency, which includes Proofreading: one last look at your work for spelling errors, typos, etc.

I won’t make changes to your content or style. I offer yellow highlight on what is wrong, needs correcting, or I can add in comments on the side.

Rates and Requirements

Rates are inclusive unless your sample shows me you need extra editing.

Complete Edit (includes Proofreading)  $35-$40 per hour – others may charge $45 and up

Proofreading only is $20 per hour – others may charge $25 and up

I keep my pricing lower, and I will do a free sample edit of 10000 words.

Work must be submitted in MS Word format and may be single or double spaced. Size 12 font preferred. Contact at this link.

Once we agree to do your project, half the rate is due when you sign the contract, the last before you receive the completed edited project. Payment plans are available for all, especially those with a large manuscript. I will use your word count to arrive at the total cost.  

I will send your free 1000 word sample edit back to you at which point we can decide if we are a good match. All contact will be via email for what you need, the cost, and the contract with total price and payment plan. Once you sign the contract and send me your down payment via my email and through PayPal. I will invoice you.

I will tighten your manuscript and polish it until it shines. I do not edit the genres of erotica or Satanic.

New London: Lady Ellen

From the author found on Amazon

An engaging Irish historical romance for readers who loved What the Wind Knows, Lady Ellen, Leap Year, and Brooklyn.

Do you enjoy stories that blend history with fantasy romance? Or courtship and adventure in the Victorian era? What was it like for a young woman to immigrate to another country after recently giving birth? How could a couple adjust to living in a country struggling with its own identity as a fledgling nation? How did changes in cultural practices, technology, and law affect courtship and family life in the 19th century?

Twenty-year-old Ellen Montagu is a new mother living in the British colony of Upper Canada in the year 1846. Not even a decade after the fledgling nation was consumed by rebellion, Ellen and Cormac Guinness try to adjust to life as Irish immigrants in their new home. New London introduces readers to a new cast of characters, while ensuring loved ones from the first two novels in the series are further developed.

New London is set in author J.G. MacLeod’s own childhood town, making descriptions vivid and highly accurate. Readers can expect the final book in the trilogy to be filled with adventure, danger, humour, and romance. A must read for fans of 19th-century Irish or Canadian history, or classic British literature like Jane Eyre and Pride and Prejudice.

New London combines love, travel, family drama, and history into one unforgettable story. Travel to the Victorian era to read the exciting conclusion to this beloved romance series. Reviews are always appreciated.

My review:

This enchanting book is a true tapestry of life. I devoured this book! It’s book three in a trilogy and I’ve yet to read book one. Having read book two, I just had to read this book! New London truly completes the tapestry of the lives of those therein, and in unexpected ways. Truly a beautiful and touching story with unexpected twists in this period novel. Five Stars!

7 Ways to Boost Your Author Brand — Nicholas C. Rossis

The inspiration (and Infographic) for this post came from Resume Now, which has an article about branding yourself. While they are focusing on job applications, what they say is remarkably useful for those building an author brand, too. I am summarizing below, but I suggest you also visit the original post for more ideas and […]

7 Ways to Boost Your Author Brand — Nicholas C. Rossis
This entry was posted on August 25, 2020. 2 Comments

Instagram Marketing Tips 2020 For Ultimate Growth — Blogging Filter

Do you want to boom on Instagram? Follow this ultimate Instagram Marketing tips to grow your Instagram account in 2020. There are various advantages of Instagram and you can become an influential brand by posting the right kind of content that will be relevant to your current followers and would bring in some new ones […]

Instagram Marketing Tips 2020 For Ultimate Growth — Blogging Filter

10 Commonly Misused Words in Writing — A Writer’s Path — Novel Writing Festival

by Laura Blackhurst The English language is one of the most complex in existence. With more words than any other language in the world, it is no wonder even native speakers don’t get it quite right all the time. Here’s a quick run down of my top ten most misused words. Some […] via 10 Commonly […]

10 Commonly Misused Words in Writing — A Writer’s Path — Novel Writing Festival

The Best Way to Promote Your Books — Nicholas C. Rossis

What is the best way to promote your books? The answer comes from an interesting article on GrowSurf.com that explained the power of referral marketing. According to the Word of Mouth Marketing Association (WOMMA), there are more than 2.4 billion brand-related conversations every day in the US alone. Sharing is an innate human trait, and people are […]

The Best Way to Promote Your Books — Nicholas C. Rossis
This entry was posted on August 21, 2020. 3 Comments

How To Make An Animated Book Teaser Video — K.M. Allan

If you’ve been following me on social media, you would have noticed that I’ve been uploading videos on Tuesdays as part of a #TeaserTuesday hashtag to promote my books. These 30-second videos include a snippet from my latest release and are animated with the magick that features in my YA Urban Fantasy series, Blackbirch. Creating […]

How To Make An Animated Book Teaser Video — K.M. Allan

Book Marketing In Quarantine – by Steven Spatz… — Chris The Story Reading Ape’s Blog

on BookBaby: Authors faced with book signings being canceled and face-to-face events waylaid have had to rethink their book marketing efforts. Some have embraced it, others are frustrated. Here are some of your stories. Adversity can bring out the best in people — especially authors. When I asked the writers in our BookBaby community to […]

Book Marketing In Quarantine – by Steven Spatz… — Chris The Story Reading Ape’s Blog