The Future Bride

From the author:

Finalist in the IAN Book of the Year Awards for Romance (2020).


An entertaining romantic comedy for fans of Outlander, Scottish Highlander romance novels, and the Middle Ages. Do you enjoy the writing of Diana Gabaldon, or tenacious female leads like the Bride (Kill Bill), Katniss Everdeen (Hunger Games), and Kat Stratford (10 Things I Hate About You)? Read The Future Bride to discover why protagonist Brigid MacDonald embodies the qualities of each of these women.

Twenty-one-year-old Brigid MacDonald spends her days working at a coffee shop, hanging out with her BFF Selma, and avoiding the low lifes she usually meets at bars – until she suddenly finds herself in a strange castle, in another time, being dressed for a wedding ceremony she didn’t consent to! Of course Brigid steals a horse and flees, but the jilted groom and his brothers aren’t giving up so easily. Unprepared for life in the wilds of Medieval Scotland, Brigid must trust her life to a moody Highlander named Ferghus.

Set amidst the breathtaking landscape of Skye, Brigid soon finds herself caught in a serious feud between rival clans. Will her knowledge of karatedo be enough to save her from ruthless warriors, or must she lower her guard and let someone else into her life?

Accompany Brigid MacDonald, a strong, witty, skilled, and beautiful red-head on her journey through the Scottish Highlands. This historical romance combines comedy and suspense that will have you both engaged and laughing at the human frailties that transcend time and place.

Author’s Note: The Future Bride contains tropes of the romance genre, as well as some carefully chosen historical inaccuracies, to facilitate the plot. For adventure. For love. For kilts.

My Review: I loved this book! First of all, it’s a period piece and second it’s set in Scotland – a country that I imagine in my dreams. The same with Ireland, etcetera. To go from one point in time, the present, back a few hundred years is not something every woman experiences. Not ever. I leave the rest to the reader’s imagination as to how complicated this can be. Double twist at the end. Five stars!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s